Leen van Wijngaarden Prize 2023 for Dr. ir. Sander Huisman
The Leen van Wijngaarden Prize for excellence in Fluid Mechanics is awarded every four years for a researcher less than 40 years of age affiliated with one of the groups of the JM Burgerscentrum. The prize is intended for an important and interesting contribution to fluid mechanics. It is great pleasure to announce that the recipient of the 2023 Leen van Wijngaarden Prize is: Dr. ir. Sander Huisman. The Prize will be presented at the Burgers Symposium on Thursday May 30th, 2024. Sander Huisman currently is an associate professor in the Physics of Fluids group at the University of Twente. He obtained his Master’s Degree in 2009 and his PhD degree in 2014, both Cum Laude, under supervision of profs Chao Sun and Detlef Lohse. With his PhD thesis “Taylor-Couette Turbulence” he obtained the Hoogendoorn KIVI Award 2015 for the best fluid mechanics thesis. He is interested in the mass, momentum, heat, and energy transfer in turbulent flows with or without inclusions (bubbles, particles, and drops) in a variety of geometries: Rayleigh–Bénard, Taylor–Couette, von Kármán, channel, pipe flows, jet flow, shear flow, and homogeneous isotropic turbulence. He is now focusing on turbulent flow with bubbles, particles, and droplets, but also with phase transitions (nucleation, cavitation, boiling, melting, dissolution, freezing, evaporation). He also has a keen interest in applying measurements techniques, like laser Doppler anemometry, particle tracking velocimetry, and high-speed particle image velocimetry, to the aforementioned geometries, and develop new algorithms and methods to analyze flows.
Go back to the news overview