Physics of Fluids

Welcome to the Physics of Fluids group

A chair which belongs to the Faculty of Science and Technology at the University of Twente cooperating in the Research Institutes MIRA and MESA+

Prof. Dr. Detlef Lohse Chair Holder
Prof. Dr. Devaraj van der Meer Physics of Granular Matter and Interstitial Fluids
Prof. Dr. Michel Versluis Physical and Medical Acoustics
Prof. Dr. Jacco Snoeijer Capillary Flows and Elasticity
Assoc. Prof. Dr. Chao Sun Turbulence and Multiphase Flow 
Prof. Dr. Frits Dijksman Innovative Biomedical Applications of Inkjet Technology
Prof. Dr. Jens Harting Numerical Simulations in Microfluidics
Prof. Dr. Andrea Prosperetti Berkhoff professor
Prof. Dr. Roberto Verzicco DNST professor

Our group is studying various flow phenomena, in particular those related with bubbles. We use both experimental, theoretical, and numerical techniques. Our main research areas are:

Upcoming events:

Wednesday August 20th, 16:00 – 17:00SeminarThe logarithmic region of wall turbulence: Universality, structure and interactions
Friday August 22nd, 16:00 – 17:00Master defenseBubbles generated by plasmonic gold nanoparticles
Friday August 29th, 16:45PhD defenseAcoustic droplet vaporization: physical and optical characterization
Wednesday September 3rd, 16:00 – 17:00Master defenseLet them be light - s study into the dynamics of light particles in a turbulent flowfield
Wednesday September 10th, 16:00 – 17:00SeminarDNS of compressible turbulent droplet-laden heated channel ow with phase transition
Latest news items: