G.K. Batchelor talk

Max Planck Medal Lecture

Turbulence facilities


Watch on YouTube

Gallery of Fluid Motion

The Gallery of Fluid Motion is a special section from the AIP-journal Physics of Fluids, which features award-winning photographs and videos chosen from among numerous entries to the Annual Gallery of Fluid Motion exhibit, held at the annual meeting of the American Physical Society, Division of Fluid Dynamics. Below are our entries.

The Yarning Droplet (Award winning entry 2021)

Carola SeyfertAlvaro Marin

Watch on YouTube

Yarning droplets: Marangoni bursting with a partially soluble component[Open Access]
C. Seyfert and A. Marin
Phys. Rev. Fluids 7, 110509 (2022)BibTeΧ


Alexander KleinWilco BouwhuisClaas-Willem VisserHenri LhuissierChao SunJacco SnoeijerEmmanuel VillermauxDetlef LohseHanneke Gelderblom

Watch on YouTube

Explosive Boiling (Award winning entry 2012)

M. A. J. van LimbeekH.E. LhuissierA. ProsperettiC. Sun, and D. Lohse

Explosive boiling?
M. A. J. van Limbeek, H.E. Lhuissier, A. Prosperetti, C. Sun, and D. Lohse
Phys. Fluids 25, 091102 (2013)BibTeΧ

Freezing singularities in water drop (Award winning entry 2012)

O.R. Enríquez, A. Marin, K.G. Winkels, and J.H. Snoeijer

Watch on YouTube

Milton Van Dyke Award Winner

Freezing singularities in water drops[arΧiv]
O.R. Enríquez, A. Marin, K.G. Winkels, and J.H. Snoeijer
Phys. Fluids 24, 091102 (2012)BibTeΧ

Avalanche of particles in evaporating coffee drops (Award winning entry 2011)

A. MarinH. GelderblomJ.H. Snoeijer, and D. Lohse

Rush-hour in evaporating coffee drops[arΧiv]
A. Marin, H. Gelderblom, D. Lohse, and J.H. Snoeijer
Phys. Fluids 23, 091111 (2011)BibTeΧ
See also: video

Collapse of Non-axisymmetric Cavities (Award winning entry 2009)

O.R. EnríquezI.R. PetersS. GekleL.E. SchmidtM. VersluisD. van der Meer, and D. Lohse

Non-axisymmetric impact creates pineapple-shaped cavity
O.R. Enríquez, I.R. Peters, S. Gekle, L.E. Schmidt, D. van der Meer, and D. Lohse
Phys. Fluids 23, 091106 (2011)BibTeΧ

Leaping shampoo and the stable Kaye effect (Award winning entry 2006)

M. VersluisC. BlomD. van der MeerJ.P. van der Weele, and D. Lohse

Competitive Clustering in a Granular Gas (Award winning entry 2003)

R. MikkelsenJ.P. van der WeeleD. van der MeerM. Versluis, and D. Lohse

Faraday, Jets, and Sand (Award winning entry 2003)

M. SandtkeD. van der MeerM. Versluis, and D. Lohse

Granular Eruptions: Void Collapse and Jet Formation (Award winning entry 2002)

R. MikkelsenM. VersluisE. KoeneG.W.H. BruggertD. van der MeerJ.P. van der Weele, and D. Lohse

On the Sound of Snapping Shrimp (Award winning entry 2001)

 M. VersluisA.S. von der HeydtD. Lohse, and B. Schmitz